Zoë Blade's notebook

Richie Hawtin

From Within
From Within

Richie Hawtin makes minimal acid techno music.

You'd be forgiven for assuming that living in the small Canadian city of Windsor in the late 1980s and early 1990s detached him from the wider electronic music making community, but Windsor was only a few miles south of Detroit. Across the river, the Belleville Three were forging Detroit Techno. Records, equipment, and likeminded friends weren't hard to come by.[1]

His 1993 album Dimension Intrusion was part of Warp's seminal Artificial Intelligence series.

The next year, he collaborated with Pete Namlook to make a still largely undiscovered ambient techno gem, From Within, released on Namlook's obscure Fax +49-69/450464 label.

Equipment list

Circa Dimension Intrusion

Circa Recycled Plastik

Selected discography


  1. "Signal Path: Richie Hawtin on His Origins as F.U.S.E. and How He Made Techno in the Early '90s" Maya-Roisin Slater, Fact, May 2019
  2. "Kracked Plastik" Roger Brown, The Mix, Dec 1994, pp. 110—114


Artists: Aphex Twin | Autechre | Derrick May | Fatboy Slim | Juan Atkins | Kevin Saunderson | Kraftwerk | LFO (artist) | Man Machine | Moby | Nine Inch Nails | Orbital | Richie Hawtin | The Future Sound of London | The Prodigy | Underworld | Vladimir Ussachevsky | Wendy Carlos | William Orbit | Zoë Blade

Fax +49-69/450464: Richie Hawtin

Warp Records: Aphex Twin | Aphex Twin guide | Autechre | LFO (artist) | Richie Hawtin